

GOVERNMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND ENERGY INDUSTRIES

Levels 15 & 22-26, Energy Tower, International Waterfront Centre #1 Wrightson Road Port of Spain
The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago West Indies
Tel: 868 225- 4EEI (4334), Fax: 868 – 225-5777 Email: info@energy.gov.tt



Media Release

28th February, 2023

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO WELCOMES THE COUNTRY'S FIRST LOW EXHAUST TUG

Today, the Honourable Stuart Young, Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, joined state-owned National Energy Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago Limited (National Energy) to officially welcome Trinidad and Tobago's first low exhaust tug to the Company's vessel fleet. A Vessel Commissioning Ceremony was held at the Hyatt Regency and was attended by stakeholders from the maritime and energy sectors.

The new 60-ton bollard-pull tug, named *National Energy Resilience*, is IMO Tier III-certified with technologies that reduce its nitrous oxides emissions by 80% - making it the "cleanest" tug operating in Trinidad and Tobago, and at this time, the 2nd in the region.

National Energy Chairman, Dr. Joseph Khan, proudly stated that the: "National Energy Resilience is different from any other tug in our fleet. It is International Marine Organisation (IMO) Tier III-certified. This standard was designed to improve air quality and protect public health by controlling emissions from ships and vessels. We are therefore delighted to say that the National Energy Resilience uses technologies that reduces its nitrous oxides emissions by 80%. This is a significant reduction in emissions of a green-house gas that is 300 times more potent than carbon dioxide." He ended his remarks stating that National Energy's decision to adhere to the IMO-Tier III standard, was completely voluntary.

In delivering the Feature Address, Minister Young stated: "While I regularly, and openly, repeat the importance of natural gas in the energy transition, I want to reassure the people of Trinidad and Tobago, that this Government, is also fully committed to climate action through the reduction of our country's greenhouse gas emissions." He boasted that "as a country, we are no strangers to being first movers, particularly within the energy sector,"

and therefore commended "National Energy for continuing to implement its mandate of developing and facilitating sustainable energy industries" through the implementation of several initiatives that support the Government's efforts to decarbonising the local energy sector.

The National Energy Resilience has secured all documentation required to operate and is now available for immediate hire.

Click Here for:

National Energy Resilience Technical Specifications

Video Demonstrating the Tugs Power/Manoeuvrability/Fire Fighting Capabilities



Minister Young delivers the feature address at the Vessel Commissioning Ceremony of the National Energy Resilience – Trinidad and Tobago's new, low-exhaust tug. The vessel is owned by state-enterprise, National Energy



Minister Young speaks with Kevin Phillip (Head of Vessel Operations at National Energy) on-board National Energy's newest tug (National Energy Resilience) at the Vessel's Commissioning Ceremony at Hyatt.



Dr. Joseph Ishmael-Khan (Chairman, National Energy); The Honourable Stuart Young (Minister of Energy & Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister); Dr. Vernon Paltoo (President, National Energy)



The National Energy Resilience – Trinidad and Tobago's newest and cleanest tug, owned by National Energy



L – R: Mark Loquan (President, NGC); Dr. Donnie Boodlal (Director, National Energy); Sandra Fraser (Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Energy & Energy Industries and Director, National Energy), Dr. Joseph Ishmael-Khan (Chairman, National Energy); The Honourable Stuart Young (Minister of Energy & Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister); Penelope Bradshaw-Niles (Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Energy & Energy Industries); Michelle Scipio-Hosang (Vice President (Ag.), National Energy); Dr. Vernon Paltoo (President, National Energy); Dan Martineau (Director, NGC); Dominic Rampersad (President, PPGPL); Lawrence Arjoon (Director, NGC)